Community Sport the winner at the Bradford Sports Awards

Community Sport the winner at the Bradford Sports Awards

Posted: Fri, 02 Jun 2023 14:20

Community Sport the winner at the Bradford Sports Awards

Four Community Sport volunteers received Special Recogniton Awards at the 7th Annual Bradford Sports Awards, held for the first time at Life Centre Events in front of over 500 guests, a record for the event.

Margaret Simpson, from Horizon Taekwondo, Dennis Flaherty representing Wibsey Athletic, Andrew Shepherd from Campion AFC and Mike Abbott from Bradford Olympian Trampoline Club have all shown long term commitment and dedication to their club and their chosen sport. The winners received their awards from Councillor Susan Hinchcliffe the leader of the City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council, the main event sponsors.

Keighley Cougars were the big winner from the professional clubs, after their unbeaten league season in 2022. The Cougars were awarded, Performance Club of the Year, Sporting Highlight and Coach of the Year. International Mixed Ability Sport (IMAS) received the new Diversity
and Inclusivity Award and Volunteer of the year was Alex Walmsley for his work in creating and running Sands United, a programme
supporting men who have been affected by baby loss.

A Special Judges Award was presented to Ashraf Wallace for his incredible fundraising efforts that have seen him running marathons
all over the world, raising funds for charity.

Charles Dacres and James Mason co-chairs of Active Bradford, the event organisers said, "It was a truly inspiring event celebrating all that is
good about sport across the Bradford District from the professional clubs to the unsung heroes - the volunteers and administrators."

"We would like to thank all the sponsors for their support that enabled us to stage the event and to provide free places for all finalists - City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council, JU:MP, Living Well, Leeds Trinity University, West and North Yorkshire Chamber of Commerce, Bradford Ice Arena, University of Bradford in partnership with Bradford City, Yorkshire Sport Foundation, the Broadway Bradford and Bradford 2025."

Young Sportswoman of the Year
Yvie Ling-Hegarty Winner
Amelia Brooksbank Highly Commended
Gina Bene-Hamill Highly Commended
Millie Carter Highly Commended
Mia Enderby Highly Commended

Young Sportsman of the Year
Zac Toothill Winner
Hayden Quirke Highly Commended
Travis Yu Highly Commended
Jake Passmore Highly Commended

Young Disability Sportsperson of the Year
Emily Hebden Winner
Rais Hussain Winner
Emma Camden Highly Commended
Libby Smith Highly Commended
Shannon Cairney Highly Commended

Young Club/Team of the Year
City of Bradford Artistic Swimming Club Winner
Bradford Olympian Trampoline Club Highly Commended Horizon Taekwondo Academy Highly
Sedbergh Amateur Boxing Club Highly Commended

Sportswoman of the Year
Ellie Kildunne Winner
Charlotte Stuart Highly Commended
Gail Watt Highly Commended

Sportsman of the Year
Harry Brook Winner
Adil Rashid Winner
Tasif Khan Highly Commended
Harris Akbar Highly Commended
Jack Carthy Highly Commended
Joe Cullen Highly Commended

Disability Sportsperson of the Year
Ella Curtis Winner
Harvey Redmonds Winner
Zak Hussain Highly Commended
Ahsan Sakandar Highly Commended
Nathan Mitchell Highly Commended

Professional Club/Team of the Year
Keighley Cougars Winner

Amateur Performance Club/Team of the Year
Sedbergh Amateur Boxing Club Winner
Gracie Barra Bradford Highly Commended
Wainman family Highly Commended
Horizon Taekwondo Academy Highly Commended

Amateur Participation Club/Team of the Year
Horizon Taekwondo Academy Winner
The LuvaBulls Cheerleaders Highly Commended
Bingley St Ives Golf Club Highly Commended

Active Lifestyle Award
Happy Healthy You Winner
Gail Watt Winner
Ascendance Highly Commended

Active School Award
Margaret McMillan Primary School Winner
Peel Park Primary School Highly Commended
Killinghall Primary School Highly Commended
Bowling Park Primary School Highly Commended

Sustainability Award
Lee Craven Winner
Keighley Cougars Highly commended
Action for Sport Highly commended

Diversity and Inclusivity Award
International Mixed Ability Sports Winner
Bradford Park Avenue Ladies Cricket club Highly Commended BEAP Community Partnership
Highly Commended Great Horton Church Cricket Club Highly Commended

Active Workplace
Manningham Housing Association Highly Commended Md Zafar Niaz & Bradford Tigers Highly
Commended Football Club

Coach of the Year
Rhys Lovegrove Winner
Tasif Khan Highly Commended
Sokii Abbas Highly Commended
Tayaba Parveen Highly Commended
Andy Brown Highly Commended
Natalie Simpson-Kidd Highly Commended
Ciara Patchett Highly Commended
Mike Conway Highly Commended

Volunteer of the Year
Alex Walmsley Winner
Steven Birkin Highly Commended
Judy Robinson Highly Commended
Hollie Whitaker Highly Commended

Sporting Highlight of the Year
Keighley Cougars Winner
Horizon Taekwondo Academy Highly commended
Wainman Family Highly commended

Special Recognition Award
Andrew Shepherd Winner
Dennis Flaherty Winner
Margaret Simpson Winner
Mike Abbott Winner

Special Judges Award
Ashraf Wallace Winner

Tags: Sports Awards

Related News